Design

WMC Fest ’11

I’ve seen a lot of people posting that they feel like they’ve just come home from summer camp. And it’s kind of like that. Except now I have new Twitter friends, instead of a list of addresses to send postcards to. If you missed this year’s Weapons of Mass Creation Fest, you missed out on some amazing speakers, and bands, and artwork. Everyone that I met was just profoundly nice, and I’m thrilled that I got to be involved with the whole thing. A lot of the advice reminded me of Conan’s “If you work really hard and are kind, amazing things will happen.” It’s the truth.

I volunteered to take some photos and video over the weekend. Largely because I think it’s a great event, and I want to see it succeed. Also because my mother raised me to volunteer for shit. I spent most of my time in the auditorium, but I managed to make it out to the gallery for a bit, and to the Happy Dog to check out some of the bands. So here are some of the people that I met, and the things that I learned…

From Jeff Finley, I learned the power of community. You earned that parade, my friend.

 

From Jacob Edwards, I learned every conceivable way there is to print up a shirt.

 

From Quite Strong, I learned that ladies can work together, and that Cheez-its are a good way to make friends.

 

From William Beachy & Steve Knerem, I learned that I should really spend more time drawing.

 

From Ken Hejduk, I learned that if you’re not for good design, you’re against it.

 

From Mig Reyes, I learned to try new shit (also something about the police…)

 

From Dan Cassaro, I learned that you need style and substance.

 

From Alex Cornell, I learned to be a mental pack-rat.

 

From Paul Sobota, I learned about photo trickery.

 

From David Gensler, I learned that talent doesn’t equal professionalism (I also learned that I don’t know anything about luxury clothing, but I mean… y’all saw what I was wearing).

 

From Todd Saperstein, I learned that there’s no reason you can’t have a presentation and a concert on the same stage (I have, by the way, named these guys The Todd Saperstein Experience).

 

From Dan Christofferson, I learned about polygamy and the Death Guild.

 

From Oliver Barrett & Aaron Sechrist, I learned that nobody likes a crybaby, and that you work WITH your client, not FOR them.

 

From Ken & Jenn Visocky O’Grady, I learned that in your life, as in your fridge, if it smells bad, it is bad.

 

From John Paul Walton, I learned how to do location based gaming right.

 

From Jessi Arrington, I learned that life is better with a little color (and that when you’re that cute, you can get an auditorium of people to do just about anything).

 

From Joseph Hughes, I learned to be reflective.

 

From Mikey Burton, I learned the secret to success (Be passionate, make stuff, repeat!)

 

And from Aaron Draplin, I learned how to make an entrance.

 

You can see more photos on the WMC Fest Flickr pool, or on my Facebook. Tag yourself, send ‘em to your friends, do what you gotta do. Use them for your own devices, with my blessing. Big thanks go out to everyone involved in making this shindig happen, and I already can’t wait for next year.

 

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “WMC Fest ’11

  1. Pingback: 15 Seconds « caroline moore

  2. Pingback: WMC Fest Recap: From the Founder’s Perspective – Graphic design tutorials, freebies, & advice by working artists and designers. | GoMediaZine

  3. Pingback: Athenna Design | WMC Fest Recap: From the Founder’s Perspective | athenna-design é uma Empresa de Design de Comunicação Em Foz do Iguaçu

  4. Pingback: WMC Fest Recap: From the Founder’s Perspective | izabegraphicdesign.com

  5. Pingback: Networking for Introverts « caroline moore

  6. Pingback: Weapons of Mass Creation « caroline moore

Leave a Reply

